About OJS


Open Journal Systems (OJS) is a journal management and publishing system which assists with every stage of the refereed publishing process, from submissions through to online publication and indexing. OJS seeks to improve both the scholarly and public quality of refereed research through its management systems, its finely grained indexing of research, and the context it provides for research. Open access can increase a journal’s readership as well as its contribution to the public good on a global scale (see PKP Publications).

OJS includes automated creation and submission of DOIs, management of reviews and publishing finished papers. Managing an OJS journal is of moderate complexity. A reasonable level of system administration skill is required to install and maintain the system, and work around possible problems. While OJS is mostly used for open access journals, the system has support for charging access fees and managing subscribers.

OJS @ SA Higher Education Institutions



Eastern Cape Universities (under the SEALS Consortium)
Inquiries: Wynand Van Der Walt w.vanderwalt@ru.ac.za

University of Cape Town
Inquiries: Jill Claassen jill.claassen@uct.ac.za

University of the Free State
Inquiries: Cornelle Scheltema-Van Wyk Cornelle@ufs.ac.za

University of KwaZulu-Natal
Inquiries: Faith Nomusa Bhengu Bhengun1@ukzn.ac.za

North-West University
Inquiries: Zandre Duvenhage zandre@skryflabpotch.co.za or Tobie Van Dyk Tobie.VanDyk@nwu.ac.za

University of Pretoria
Inquiries: Leti Kleyn Leti.Kleyn@up.ac.za

University of Stellenbosch
Inquiries: Mimi Seyffert mseyf@sun.ac.za

University of the Western Cape
Inquiries: Allison Fullard afullard@uwc.ac.za

University of South Africa
Inquiries: Pieter Rall rallpb@unisa.ac.za

University of Johannesburg
Inquiries: Tyson Mabunda ttmabunda@uj.ac.za

Alternative OJS Hosting

The following are in no way affiliated with ASSAf, and ASSAf disclaim all liability arising out of the use of or inability to use the service providers listed. We assume no responsibility, and shall not be liable for any arrangements between journals and the listed individuals/companies.

Useful Links